New 2016 Chair and Governing Board Prepared to go the Distance

Date Posted: 
January 08, 2016

See Official Press Release  here

Mississauga, ON. Jan 7, 2016 – The Board of Canadian Registered Safety Professionals (BCRSP) elects David Turner, MBA, P.Eng., CMSP, CRSP, as Board Chair. Turner is the twenty-first Chair since the certification body’s incorporation in 1976 and succeeds Daniel T. Lyons who has served as Chair since 2014.

As the BCRSP Chair, Turner will lead the Governing Board through the execution of its current strategic plan. The strategic plan focuses on business growth, global leadership, strategic partnership and operational excellence. As a natural leader Turner lives by the motto: “I will not send anyone where I’m not prepared to go,” and he’s prepared to go the distance with the solid belief that safety matters.


As President and Lead Occupational Health and Safety (OHS) Specialist for Turner Safety Systems, based in Maple Creek, Saskatchewan, David Turner has more than 20 years’ experience in occupational health and safety. Turner graduated from the University of Nottingham with a B.Sc.(Hons) in Mining Engineering and holds an MBA from City University of Seattle. He has been a Canadian Registered Safety Professional (CRSP)® since 2001.

"Safety is constantly evolving and my goal is to bring safety to new heights. I see the safety profession developing under one umbrella, with certification by the BCRSP as its standard of excellence,” says Turner.

In addition to Turner, the 2016 Governing Board includes executive officers Paul Andre, CRSP (Vice Chair); Dan Lyons, CRSP, CMIOSH, CSP (Past Chair); Paula Campkin, MBA, CRSP (Secretary-Treasurer) and Governors Kevin J. Dawson, MBA, PEng, CRSP, Alireza Golbabai, CRSP, John Hollohan, BSc, BASc, CRSP, Geeta Sharma, CRSP, Peter Sturm, CRSP, CHSC, Andrea Cotroneo (Public Member), and the Executive Director is Nicola J. Wright, BA (Hons), CAE.

The new board officially began their term January 1st, 2016.


Chair, David Turner, CRSP


About the BCRSP

The Board of Canadian Registered Safety Professionals (BCRSP) is a federally incorporated self-regulating, self-governing, ISO 17024 accredited and ISO 9001 certified organization established in 1976. The BCRSP sets the standard for the certification of occupational health and safety professionals in Canada to create the healthiest and safest workplaces in the world. Professionalism, high standards, continuous learning, and an established Code of Ethics drive the BCRSP. The BCRSP grants the Canadian Registered Safety Professional (CRSP) ® credential to individuals who successfully complete the certification process through application assessment, interview and examination. The Board governs its certificants in order that the public interest may be served and protected.

Media Contacts:

Lalaa Comrie

Marketing and Communications Coordinator

The Board of Canadian Registered Safety Professionals (BCRSP)



Nikki Wright, BA (Hons), CAE

Executive Director

The Board of Canadian Registered Safety Professionals (BCRSP)