David Johnston, CRSP Appointed BCRSP Governing Board Chair

Date Posted: 
July 01, 2020

MISSISSAUGA, ONTARIO – July 1, 2020 The Board of Canadian Registered Safety Professionals (BCRSP) announces that David Johnston, CRSP is appointed as the Governing Board Chair effective July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021. David Johnston is the twenty-fifth Chair since the certification body’s incorporation in 1976 and succeeds Monica Szabo who has served as Chair since July 2019.

As the BCRSP Governing Board Chair, David Johnston will lead the Governing Board through the execution of its strategic plan and vision.

As a seasoned environment, health and safety professional based out of Toronto, Ontario, David has over 35 years’ experience and is currently employed by Toronto Hydro as the Director, Environment, Health and Safety. David has worked throughout Canada and the United States gaining experience in a variety of industries including metal refining and smelting; chemical products; aerospace; automotive; agri-business; biofuels; and electrical utilities. In addition to his full-time job, he is a tireless volunteer contributing to the advancement of safety and the profession in multiple capacities. As well as serving on the BCRSP Board of Governors, he has served on the Ontario Electrical Utilities Provincial Labour-Management Safety Committee, the Board of Directors - Infrastructure Health and Safety Association; Editorial Board - Canadian Occupational Safety Magazine; Provincial Coroner’s Advisory Committee on Construction Fatalities; CSA Z1002 Technical Committee; and the Canadian Electricity Association’s National Safety Committee and National Sustainability Committee. In 2013, he was selected as Canada’s Safety Leader of the Year. Mr. Johnston has been a Canadian Registered Safety Professional (CRSP)® since 1999.

Joining David on the 2020-21 Governing Board are newly appointed officers Robin Angel, CRSP (Vice Chair), David Larson,  CSP, CFPS, ARM, CRSP (Secretary-Treasurer), and Monica Szabo in her new role as Past Chair. Newly elected Governors include Stephanie Benay, CRSP, and William Rowan, CRST, and returning governors include Paul Belair, MBA, CRSP; Tehzin Chadwick, MHSc, CRSP, CIH, ROH, Mark Fernandes, MBA, CRSP, Marianne Matichuk, CRSP, CHSC, COHS, CNM, Dave Rebbitt, MBA, CRSP, CHSC, CET, CD, Sandra Stephens, LLB, LLM (Public Member), and Peter Sturm, BA, CRSP, CHSC and the Executive Director Nicola J. Wright, BA (Hons), CAE.

The new Board officially began their term July 1, 2020.


About the BCRSP www.bcrsp.ca

The Board of Canadian Registered Safety Professionals is a public interest, not-for-profit, federally incorporated self-regulating organization which sets the certification standards for the OHS profession. BCRSP strives to advance the body of knowledge, the competency of the profession, and the value our certificants bring to society. The BCRSP grants the CRSP® and CRST certifications to individuals who successfully complete the certification process through application assessment, interview, and examination. The Board governs its certificants in order that the public interest may be served and protected.

For More Information Contact:

Nikki Wright, BA (Hons), CAE
Executive Director,
Board of Canadian Registered Safety Professionals (BCRSP)